Dance it off…

If you read my earlier post about music, then you would understand my unconditional love for music. Turning a bad day to a good day, is the magic that lies in a good music. When you feel that beat, turning the feeling in you around, then you gotta dance it off. This week we’re having a guest blogger, Chantelle Richards also known as ” Dancy pants chantz” is going to share with us her passion about dancing.

– I find the content of her message very uplifting and I hope you will enjoy it as well:

When I asked Christian if I could be a guest blogger on his blog he said yes right away.  At first, I was beyond excited…thinking “I have so much to talk about”, “what should I write about?”, “I wonder if he’ll let me do 2 since I just can’t decide what to talk about”.  Well, a day later and all the ideas that I was throwing around in my head don’t seem good enough…I want something Better!! But what???

I have not read many blogs over the years… I can count 3 that I actually kept up on and 2 were family members and one of my best friends who moved away. So this leaves me with little to draw on as to how to start.

So I guess, let me introduce myself and go from there. I am a registered nurse at McMaster Children’s Hospital, the oldest of 4 kids, and I love to laugh and have fun. I try not to take life too seriously. 

So what should we talk about?? We should talk about Dancing! Yes, dancing. Christian has posted how important music is in life and I agree 100% that music can turn a bad day around and make it better…but add dancing and there is no way you can stay mad or sad. Anybody can listen to music when feeling stressed or down and distract yourself into a better mood…but make the choice to get up and dance to that music and voila…no more blues!

Do you have to be good at dancing to do this?? Absolutely not…actually it’s better if you don’t even think about how you are dancing…just go crazy!  In university, I used this “technique” to relieve the stress of my classes and assignments a lot!!  My house mates and I actually called the upstairs hallway in our house “club de disco” (we made signs and everything!!). So if our assignments were getting overwhelming or we just needed a study break to bust a move…we knew where to go…club de disco. Very often I would get a message from my roommate upstairs saying something like “dance party in 5 minutes” and off I ran for a 10 minute dance party and then back to work…well let’s be honest sometimes these dance parties lasted a lot longer than 10 minutes (we actually have a routine, but that’s another blog altogether!)

What if you don’t have a “club de disco”?…well then make one! Other options include but are not limited to….

-Chair dancing (bust it to your favorite tunes right there at your desk!)

-Dance down the street (there is actually a man in Hamilton who has become quite well-known for this)

-Dance in any store as if you were practicing for an upcoming show (just like Baby does in Dirty Dancing) *note I have done this in Wal-Mart and got a few stares, but I was loving life

-Dance while you clean the house or make dinner

-Dance in your car while driving (keeping your eyes on the road of course!! SAFETY FIRST) *this option also allows you to sing out loud to your faves without judgment…just be sure you are driving alone*

So what is the take home message??? DANCE,DANCE, and DANCE … no matter what kind of mood you find yourself in, I guarantee you will be in better spirit after a little turn around the living room.

About Christian

People often views me as a well cultured, interesting and fun person to be around. Passionate about education, learning new things, traveling, music, social moments, and inspirations.

Posted on December 7, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

