Simple and easy preparation of a good steak

Dreaming about a nice and juicy steak can be a very satisfying and expensive dream. I decided to bring the steak party in my kitchen and I should enjoy a good steak at my convenience. I got this recipe from a good friend of mine and since then I’ve been using it with my own twist.

This is in my opinion the best way to prepare and cook a steak:

My favorite cut is a beef tenderloin(T-bone for my preference ) or a sirloin will work just fine. The thicker the steak, the easier it is to cook to your liking. For a medium rare follow this:

The first step is to let your steak sit on the counter for one hour prior to cooking, to get close to room temperature and season the steak with a good rub of olive oil and coat both the top and bottom with your favorite spice [ Montreal steak with a bit of parsley or Provencal herbs is really nice]

A cast iron pan is my favorite, heat the pan with nothing in it, once it’s hot throw in a piece of butter [table-spoon] and the same amount of olive oil.

At the first sign of smoke, place the steak side down first and sear it for 3 minutes, turn over and sear the other side for 3 minutes.

When you turn over the steak, take a spoon and tilt your pan (don’t forget your oven mitt)  and spoon the juice in the pan over the steak a couple of times.

After the other side is done, remove the steak and place it in a cold pan and
place it a preheated oven [400] for 5 minutes. Pour the juices from the hot cast
iron pan over it.

Remove the steak from the oven and wrap it in a foil and again, pour the juices from the oven pan over the steak. Let it rest for 5 minutes.

You are now ready to have the best steak of your life.

BON APPETIT…

Note: Reduce the cooking time by the thickness of your steaks.

Chef Christian’s 24 hours help line: christianpasset@hotmail.com

About Christian

People often views me as a well cultured, interesting and fun person to be around. Passionate about education, learning new things, traveling, music, social moments, and inspirations.

Posted on November 5, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve never made a steak this way. But I’ll have to try it…it sounds delicious. I can imagine it being perfectly tender since you keep it covered with juices. Yum.

  2. It sounds delicious and it does tastes delicious hehehe let me know how it turns out.

    I appreciate your feedback.

    Chef C.

Leave a Reply

